Separating depression and shame 

The human condition is wrought with suffering. Buddha said there is no way around it. Well, sure enough over the past 10 years or so, as I was finding my way to adulthood I too hit a wall of suffering. And then another. And another…

Anger over inequality and my ties to it. Pain. Loneliness. Sharing my gifts within the confines of capitalism…these have been my struggles. And oh how I have struggled. Deep dark depression plagued me on and off for years. It is a lot easier to say that out loud with some distance from it. But even while it lasted I was coming to terms with honesty around it. And I am so thankful for the influences in my life that helped normalize it. 

I’m not sure if society in general is opening up to the reality of depression or if I just see it that way right now. I’ll mention a few key influences that have helped me see that I am not alone…My dear friend Angela sharing belly laughs over the similarities in our neurotic tendencies (she is currently traveling in Baja, see her blog here). Another amazing girlfriend Erin (nutritional therapist, fitness coach and intentional liver extraodinaire) gifted me Brené Brown’s book, Daring Greatly. That book has been a huge positive influence on me, helping to banish shame from my head. Lastly my counselor and meditation teacher, the wise Valeta Bruce, sharing radical empathy. Thanks to these women I am no longer ashamed and can reach out when I feel low and break the hold depression used to have on me. 

Oh, and of course my mom 🙂 Thanks for never giving up on me. 

About burlamber

Just another person trying to find my way in the world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

