Start Local.

It’s a concept.

For many years I struggled with trying to live sustainably. And I mean struggled. I got to the point where, if I got to the store and had forgotten my shopping bags (usually) I wanted to scream! Life felt so impossibly hard. And it was. I was living unsustainably in many ways…

I was so torn between trying to have a job that made a difference, dressing cute, paying the bills, working out, staying in touch with everyone, reading, learning, shopping, cooking, recycling, back pain, blah blah blah. I was terribly spread thin and completely overwhelmed.

But don’t worry, there’s a happy ending 🙂 It got better. I found the local foodies and everything changed. Well, first I read Omnivore’s Dilemma and got curious about farming. Then I started thinking about farmers here in Bend. Then I realized how tough the local food situation was but also how gratifying it was to support that and how amazing it is to eat local grown fresh organic food and support your community.

And from there everything fell into place and started to make sense. Thank goodness! Start Local. Buy what you can as local as you can and facilitate local entrepreneurship. More money stays in the the community, less fuel is used to bring you your goods, you can literally keep an eye on the quality of the production because you know the people doing it. And on and on and on.

But the localest food is not as easy to find as “normal” food. Finding Locavore helped but there are things not yet grown here in Central Oregon that I needed. So we started Start Local. It is about providing staple goods from the localest sustainable source. We’re calling it a “brand” but don’t forget, it’s also a way of life 😉

**Start Local products can be found on the Locavore website. Lentils and garbanzos from Junction City, dried cranberries from Coquille and yes, we also need our amazing and sustainable chocolate chips from Italy 🙂 We have a long way to go with what we are able to offer so we are always looking for leads on local products. Constructive criticism is also encouraged but we are volunteer run so please be nice.  And if you are into hand-made-upcycled-puff-paint-t-shirts I will make you one. **

About burlamber

Just another person trying to find my way in the world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

